BANBURY TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of Banbury Town Council held on **Tuesday 14 May 2025 at 6.30pm** in the Town Hall, Banbury.

Present: Mark Cherry (Town Mayor) and Kieron Mallon (Deputy Town Mayor)

Councillors: Beere, Biegel, Brant, Crichton, Dhesi, Eaton, Elugwu, Harwood, Hussain, Mears, Okeke, Richards, Strangwood, Thornhill, Tohill-Martin,

Urwick and Vaitkus.

Officers: Mark Hassall (Town Clerk & RFO)

Paul Almond (Director of Environment and Deputy Clerk)

Helen Durkin (Executive Officer) Mark Perrett (Events Manager)

Simon Lewthwaite (Civic & Events Officer)
James Smith (Media & Communications Officer)

The Town Mayor, escorted by the Town Clerk processed into the Main Hall.

The Town Mayor briefly reviewed his year of office and thanked all those who had supported him during the year, especially his Deputy Town Mayor; Civic Cadets; fellow Members; the Town Clerk and Town Hall staff, particularly Simon Lewthwaite (Civic & Events Officer); and the people of Banbury.

C.1/25 Election of the Town Mayor for 2025/26

It was proposed by Councillor Harwood, seconded by Councillor Strangwood, and **WAS RESOLVED** that Councillor Mallon be elected Town Mayor of Banbury for the year 2025/2026.

C.2/25 Election of a Deputy Town Mayor for 2025/26

It was proposed by Councillor Hussain, seconded by Councillor Biegel, and **WAS RESOLVED** that Councillor Okeke be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Banbury for the year 2025/2026.

C.3/25 Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Town Mayor

Councillor Mallon then made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Town Mayor of Banbury, which was duly accepted by the Council.

Councillor Mallon then proposed and it was **RESOLVED** that the Town Council express its thanks and sincere appreciation to Councillor Mark Cherry for the conscientious and zealous manner in which he had discharged the arduous duties of Town Mayor during the past year.

Members of the Council then pledged themselves, as leaders and members of the community of Banbury, to work with all their hearts, minds, and strength for the good of its people and the well-being of its society.

C.4/25 Apologies for Absence

Councillors Creed & Woodward

C.5/25 Declarations of Interest

None.

C.6/25 Minutes of the last Meeting

It was proposed by the Town Mayor, and **WAS RESOLVED** that the Minutes of the Meeting held on the 01 April 2025 be approved as a correct record and signed by the Town Mayor.

C.7/25 Communications

The Town Clerk reported that there were no formal communications.

C.8/25 Appointment of Standing Committees

It was proposed by Councillor Hussain, seconded by Councillor Biegel, and WAS **RESOLVED** that the Appointments of Standing Committees as at **Appendix 1** be approved.

C.9/25 Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

It was proposed by Councillor Hussain, seconded by Councillor Biegel, and **WAS RESOLVED** that the Appointments of Representatives to Outside Bodies as at **Appendix 2** be approved.

The Meeting ended at 7.00pm

Appendix 1

Standing Committee Membership 2025 – 2026

1. Resources Committee

(Seats allocated: Conservative/LD 1, Labour 5)

Conservative/Lib Dem	Labour
1. Mallon	1. Hussain (Chair)
	2. Eaton (Vice Chair)
	3. Beere
	4. Creed
	5. Vaitkus

[Alternate Members]

Conservative		Labour	Labour
1.	Strangwood	1. Clarke	7. Elugwu
2.	Harwood	2. Beere	8. Dhesi
		Crichton	Thornhill
		4. Richards	10. Elugwu
		Tohill-Martin	11. Woodward
		6. Urwick	Cherry
			13. Okeke

2. General Services Committee

(Seats allocated: Conservative/LD 1, Labour 5)

Conservative/Lib Dem	Labour
1. Strangwood	1. Cherry (Chair)
-	2. Biegel
	Tohill-Martin
	4. Okeke
	5. Elugwu

[Alternate Members]

Conservative	Labour	Labour
 Harwood 	1. Hussain	Crichton
2. Mallon	2. Biegel	9. Woodward
	3. Vaitkus	10. Dhesi
	4. Eaton	11. Thornhill
	5. Mears	12. Cherry
	6. Clarke	13. Urwick
	7. Beere	

3. Planning Committee

(Seats Allocated: Conservative/LD 1, Labour 5)

Conservative/Lib Dem	Labour
1. Harwood	 Beere (Chair)
	2. Woodward (Vice Chair)
	3. Dhesi
	4. Thornhill
	Tohill-Martin

[Alternate Members]

Conservative	Labour	Labour
 Strangwood 	1. Hussain	Woodward
2. Mallon	2. Biegel	Richards
	3. Vaitkus	10. Tohill-Martin
	4. Eaton	11. Urwick
	5. Mears	12. Cherry
	6. Clarke	13. Okeke
	7. Crichton	

4. Appeals Panel

(Seats Allocated: Conservative/LD 1, Labour 5)

Conservative/Lib Dem	Labour
1. Strangwood	 Richards
-	Crichton
	Tohill-Martin
	4. Okeke
	5. Biegel

[Note: Appeals Panel members cannot be members of Resources Cttee]

Appendix 2

APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

Organisation	Category	No	Appointment 2024/25	Nominations 2025/26
Banbury & District Air Training Corps	В	1	Cllr Elugwu (L)	Cllr Elugwu (L)
Banbury & District Samaritans	А	1	Cllr Crichton (L)	Cllr Crichton (L)
Banbury & District Twinning Association	А	1	Cllr Woodward (L)	Cllr Woodward (L)
Banbury Canal Partnership	Р	1	Cllr Mallon (C)	Cllr Mallon (C)
Banbury Citizen's Advice Bureau	А	1	Cllr Crichton (L)	Cllr Crichton (L)
Banbury Civic Society	В	1	Cllr Eaton (L)	Cllr Eaton (L)
Banbury Regeneration Area Oversight Group	Р	6	-	Cllr Hussain Cllr Eaton Cllr Cherry Cllr Biegel Cllr Beere Cllr Woodward
Banbury Sea Cadets	В	1	Cllr Mallon (C)	Cllr Mallon (C)
Banbury Traffic Advisory Committee	Р	3	Cllr Biegel (L) Cllr Mears (L) Cllr Harwood (C)	Cllr Biegel (L) Cllr Tohill-Martin (L) Cllr Harwood (C)
Borough of Banbury Trust 2 (plus TM and DTM)	Р	2	Cllr Hussain (L) Cllr Harwood (C)	Cllr Hussain (L) Cllr Harwood (C)
Chamber of Commerce	А	1	Cllr Thornhill (L)	Cllr Thornhill (L)
Cherwell Climate Change Partnership	Р	1	Cllr Vaitkus (L)	Cllr Vaitkus (L)
Cherwell Community & Voluntary Service	А	1	Cllr Urwick (L)	Cllr Urwick (L)
Cherwell Crime Partnership: Banbury	Р	1	Cllr Okeke (L)	Cllr Okeke (L)
Community Partnership Network	Р	1	Cllr Hussain (L) Cllr Mallon (C) (sub)	Cllr Hussain (L) Cllr Mallon (C) (sub)
The Glebe Charity (Cricket Club)	В	1	Cllr Beere (L)	Cllr Beere (L)
The Hill	А	1	Cllr Cherry (L)	Cllr Cherry (L)
Sunshine Centre	В	1	Cllr Richards (L)	Cllr Richards (L)
Town Centre Partnership (3)	Р	3	Cllr Hussain(L) Cllr Richards (L) Cllr Mallon (C)	Cllr Hussain(L) Cllr Richards (L) Cllr Mallon (C)